CSA anyone?

Welp, all 500 heirloom tomatoes are in the ground, as are the sugar baby watermelon, the swiss chard, and the violet artichokes. This rain has been nice, as we’re still grappling with the irrigation set up. The rabbits self-watering system is functional, just in time for the hot weather. Now we’re looking around at all the fruit trees starting to develop fruit, the grape vine’s plump promises, and we’re realizing that come July, the place is going to be pumping out the produce. In the beginning, Abeni and I were planning to sell the bounty to restaurants or at my pop-up farmstand or the pop-up general store. But we’re rethinking that now.

We want to have an ongoing relationship with our customers. We want them to experience the seasonal changes–and bounty–with us. So we’re putting it out there: we’re offering 15 CSA memberships to people in the Bay Area. Starting in mid-July we will offer a box per week through the end of November. The box will include vegetables like lettuce, greens, tomatoes, cucumbers; fruits like figs, grapes, Fuyu persimmons, pineapple guava, and apricots. We will also sign people up for shares in our goats so they can receive milk and yogurt. At certain times we will be able to include a rabbit or chicken/rooster in that week’s box for an extra few dollars, if that’s something you would like. A box will cost $60/week, to be picked up at my farm in downtown Oakland on Saturdays.

For now I’m just taking a poll: who would be interested in signing up for our CSA?

Note that the full-priced shares will go to offset an additional 5 shares that will be reserved for low income people from San Lorenzo.

8 Comments

  1. Hannah said,

    May 12, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Yes! I would be interested in a CSA.

  2. Emily said,

    May 13, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Definitely!

  3. Ann said,

    May 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    What a great idea! I wish I was close enough to participate.

  4. Mary Palafox said,

    May 18, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Hi, Novella — Excited to hear your progress in San Lorenzo. I’m back to work, nose to the grindstone in the corporate office environment, and only dreaming about goats and mint tea & peanut butter sandwich lunches eaten outside. I so enjoyed my day with you and Julia. Glad to hear the bunnies made the transition and YES, I would be interested in participating in your CSA.
    Mary

  5. judy patton said,

    June 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I’m interested in a CSA, I’ve followed you since your book introduction and love what you do and write

  6. August 1, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Wow, that’s a great idea you have there. If I lived anywhere near your area I know I’d definitely sign up just to get freshly grown frutis and veggies like what you’re offering. More power to you!

  7. judy patton said,

    August 1, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    $60 a week is a little rich for me and it’s just me, not sure about the size of the boxes but would a smaller box for one person be possible. I still think you are doing such a wonderful thing and I appreciate your spirit and nature. Keep up the good work.
    judy patton

  8. laurakvasnosky said,

    June 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    So what happened to the farm? I love the idea of this story unfolding. Please pick it up the blog again!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

